top of page
  • Writer's picturethet1dtherapist

Connected For Life: Diabuddies

The sun is shining down on the grass, I’m sitting and grinning ear -to-ear holding a crystal light popsicle waiting to play “Ketones, Ketones, Insulin” (think “duck, duck, goose”). This was one of my favorite childhood memories of being 5 years old and going to Diabetes Camp. Being a 5-year old that just got recently got diagnosed just a short 2 months prior, I had never met anyone, especially kids my age that also had Type 1 Diabetes. I must admit that I was young and I don’t remember that much; however, I do remember feeling accepted and understood for the first time since I got diagnosed. Most importantly, I didn’t feel like I was the “odd one out” when I had to test my blood, since we had ‘testing parties’ where we would all go and test our blood together before a snack.


I have previously mentioned before in other posts that it is very important to have friends and family within your support system. Additionally, I feel that it is very beneficial to find support within the Type 1 Diabetes Community. This is because there is a limit on how much a loved one (no matter how educated they are about T1D) can truly understand without actually living with T1D. There’s something truly inspiring and amazing about meeting someone else with T1D (aka having a ‘diabuddy’), listening to their story, and realizing that you aren’t alone- there actually is someone else that is living through the daily fight with T1D. You realize that you aren’t the only person that tends to ‘eat the whole kitchen’ when blood sugar is low. There’s this automatic bond- since you can actually understand what the other person is going through, and that is truly important to have.


I was recently reminded about how important and empowering being part of the T1D community can be. Last week, I had the opportunity to volunteer, as a social worker, at a day camp for kids living with type 1 diabetes. Being able to work with younger children, many that have just been recently diagnosed with T1D, was one of the most fun, amazing, supportive, and inspiring experiences I have ever had! Let me tell you why! First, I have to mention that most of the camp staff (both medical and nonmedical) had T1D- therefore, I got to make amazing friends/diabuddies while working side-by-side with the medical staff both on and not on my team.


Reflecting back about last week, I think about one of my favorite stories of working with a young child who was a little nervous on the first day of camp. I remember walking up to them and showing them my Dexcom, which was on my arm covered with a beautiful flowered over-patch. I remember seeing their eyes widen when they realized that I had a Dexcom just like them, and then slowly sitting on a chair and letting their parent leave so that we could go color. Most of the younger children that I was working with have never met someone else with T1D, especially in their age group. Could you imagine being or having a 5-year old that was recently diagnosed with T1D, feeling confused and scared about their future, and then meeting a professional with T1D and realizing that even though they have T1D they can still live their life and have a great profession. That in itself, could be truly empowering for both the kids and their parents.


The truth is, I went to this camp to help children understand and learn more about how T1D and emotions go hand-in-hand. I left this camp not only feeling inspired by seeing my campers bonding and supporting each other, but also feeling empowered and thankful to have met such supportive and positive young professionals also living with T1D, allowing myself to build up my T1D support system!


HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

Here are some of the many ways to get involved within the T1D community:

  • Participate in a JDRF One Walk (Find one near you!)

  • Volunteer or attend an ADA summer camp (Find one near you)

  • Join Beyond Type 1, which is an online community for those impacted by Type 1 diabetes (sign up here)

  • Join a Facebook support group (there are truly so many!)

  • Search MeetUp for local groups for young adults and adults with T1D

  • Subscribe, like, and follow this blog to learn more about the important connection between T1D and mental health

  • Also, if you see someone when you are out and about that has a CGM or pump, go up to them and introduce yourself, at first they might be a little confused but as soon as you say that you are also a T1D you will definitely feel that bond!

No matter how many days, months, or years with T1D, the daily stress of being a Type 1 diabetic might not get "easier.” but we sure do get stronger, especially when we have the support of the T1D community behind us!


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page